NCBI's literature database for research in medicine and biosciences. Includes MEDLINE, other full-text resources, links to NCBI sequencing databases. 1950 - present.
Articles, books, reports, and patents in science, engineering, social science, and arts and humanities. Includes citation features and tools to analyze authors and journals.
- Web of Science/Web of Knowledge
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, art & humanities research journals, 1899-present. Includes conference proceedings from 1990, books and chapters from 2005.
Comprehensive chemical information database. Covers scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical papers. 1907 - present.
- Comprehensive Physiology
Includes complete content from the Handbook of Physiology from the American Physiological Society; updated quarterly.
- Dissertations and Theses
Indexing and abstracting of dissertations and theses 1861-present. Full text for most dissertations 1997-present and selective full-text for earlier dissertations. Comprehensive coverage of North American universities and selective coverage worldwide.
- F1000 - Prime
Highlights and evaluates most interesting papers published in biosciences and medicine based on recommendations of top researchers.
- Knovel (engineering and science handbooks)
Engineering & scientific e-books. Includes interactive tables & graphs.
- Stat!Ref Electronic Medical Library
Database of full-text of core medical textbooks and other reference sources. Texts updated as new editions are published.
- Bioscience Protocols and Methods
Links to collections of detailed experimental procedures.
- Biotechnology & Pharmaceutical Industry Information
A guide with links for company information, market research and industry overviews, regulatory policies and intellectual properties.
A chemistry and biology drawing tool
- GeneGo MetaCore
an integrated software suite for functional analysis of experimental data such as microarray, SNPs, and pathway analysis. GeneGo MetaCore is available ONLY to the MIT community. You must register to access GeneGo MetaCore.
Ingenuity Pathways Analysis is software that helps researchers model, analyze, and understand complex biological and chemical systems. Ingenuity Pathways Analysis is available ONLY to the MIT commuity. You must register to access Ingenuity Pathways Analysis.
- Merck Index
Authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
- NCBI Entrez
NCBI search system integrating PubMed, nucleotide and protein sequences, protein structures, genomes, and more.
includes Beilstein & Gmelin - comprehensive information about organic, inorganic, and organometallic compounds, their syntheses and properties.
Use these tools to help you organize and manage your content,
- Overview of Citation Software
A desktop software package designed to help you to organize citations and create a bibliography.
- Manage your Information
Contains links to research guides for citation management, managing personal digital content, managing and publishing data, and personal content management tools.
A tool that enables you to manage citations and PDFs using a desktop client or through your account on mendeley.com. Mendeley also includes plugins for Word or OpenOffice, so you can easily create citations and/or bibliographies as you write your papers.
- Personal Content Management Tools
- RSS, Email & Table of Contents Alerts
There are a number of services via email and RSS for accessing tables of contents of new journal issues and research alerts (results of literature searches you construct, run periodically).
This site will provide links to these services, as well as an explanation of what RSS is and how it works.
Open source browser plugin (Firefox). Desktop version for Chrome.