MIT Libraries Catalog
To find materials owned by MIT, use Barton:
Vera Multi-Search
Electronic Music
Shortcuts for Researching a Topic: Online and Print Resources
Finding Books and Articles
(also see the "Reference Books" and "Books and CDs" tabs above)
- Barton (to find materials owned by MIT)
Change the keyword search box to Subject Words and enter electronic music, computer music, aleatory music, etc. - Music index.
Ref ML118.M987 and online (MIT only)
Indexes music articles published in journals from 1949-1974 (print) and 1974-present (online). - RILM (Répertoire International de la Littérature Musicale) Abstracts of music literature. (MIT only)
Contains abstracts of music research (articles, books, dissertations) from 1967 on. - WorldCat (MIT only)
Contains over one billion library records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including books, scores, CDs, and videos/DVDs. - Google Scholar.
Includes scholarly literature at MIT and beyond.
Finding CDs and DVDs
For CDs and DVDs in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select CDs or DVDs from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types. Change one of the keyword searches to Subject Words and enter electronic music, computer music, aleatory music, etc.
Streaming Audio
- Database of Recorded American Music [DRAM]
MIT only; over 9,800 compositions by American composers and artists from New World, CRI, and other important labels. - Internet Archive
A source for free digital recordings. - Naxos Music Library (MIT only)
More than 500,000 tracks of music, representing 35,200 CDs; mostly classical, but includes electronic music.
Internet Resources
- EARS: ElectroAcoustic Resource Site
From the Music, Technology and Innovation Research Group at De Montfort University. - The EMF Institute
Web site of the Electronic Music Foundation.
- History of electronic music
Huge links collection from pHinnWeb. - Electronic Music
From the William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University School of Music. - Computer Music links
From the International Computer Music Association. - SEAMUS
Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States. - Computer Music, MIDI, etc.
From the Sibelius Adacemy. - Oxford Music Online (MIT only) includes:
- Grove Music Online
- Oxford Dictionary of Music
- Oxford Companion to Music
Journals
- Computer music journal
v.1 (1977)-present and online (MIT only) - Electronic musician
v.2 (1986)-present; v.16 (2000)-present available online (MIT only) - Journal of new music research
v.23 (1994)-present and online (MIT only)
- Leonardo music journal
v.1 (1991)-present and online (MIT only) - Organised sound
v.1 (1996)-present and online (MIT only) - Journal SEAMUS
v.1 (1986)-present - Synth Zone
Links to magazine web sites.
Subject Specialist
Peter Munstedt
Lewis
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Other Library Services
- Suggest a purchase (MIT only)
- Interlibrary borrowing (MIT only)
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait