MIT Libraries Catalog
To find materials owned by MIT, use Barton:
Vera Multi-Search
Pop and Rock Music
Shortcuts for Researching a Topic: Online and Print Resources
Music Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- All music guides:
these individual guides cover blues, country, hip-hop, soul, etc.
- See Ref ML156.4 and Ref ML156.9 in the Lewis Music Library.
- allmusic.com is free to users, although certain portions require registration.
- See Ref ML156.4 and Ref ML156.9 in the Lewis Music Library.
-
Baker's biographical dictionary of popular musicians since 1990.
Ref ML102.P66.B35 2004
Some of these musicians are included in the older Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians. Centennial edition.
Ref ML105.B168 2001 v.1-6 and online: http://libraries.mit.edu/get/bakers -
Continuum encyclopedia of popular music of the world / edited by John Shepherd... [et al.].
Ref ML102.P66.C66 2003 v.1-7 - The Encyclopedia of popular music / compiled & edited by Colin Larkin.
Ref ML102.P66.G84 1998 v.1-8 - Kinkle, Roger D. The complete encyclopedia of popular music and jazz, 1900-1950.
Ref ML102.P66.K55 [1974] v.1-4
Finding Books and Articles
- Barton
The MIT Libraries’ online catalog - Music index.
Ref ML118.M987 and available online (MIT only) at http://libraries.mit.edu/get/musicindex
An index to music articles published in journals from 1949-1974 (print) and 1974-present (online). - RILM (Répertoire International de la Littérature Musicale) Abstracts of music literature.
Available online (MIT only) at http://libraries.mit.edu/get/rilm
Contains abstracts of music research (articles, books, dissertations) from 1967 on. Over 500,000 citations. - WorldCat. Web access (MIT only): http://libraries.mit.edu/get/worldcat
Contains 1.2 billion library records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including books, scores, CDs, and videos/DVDs. - Google Scholar.
Another source for finding journal articles and books.
Finding Songs in Collections
- Collections of songs by more than one composer are given Library of Congress call numbers (see range M1495-M1998).
Examples:
- Ultimate pop rock fake book.
M1630.18.U485 2001 - 100 years of Broadway.
M1507.O53 1994
- Ultimate pop rock fake book.
- Some are listed in indexes.
Examples:
- Ferguson, Gary Lynn. Song finder: a title index to 32,000 popular songs in collections, 1854-1992.
Ref ML128.S3.F47 1995 - Havlice, Patricia Pate. Popular song index.
Ref ML128.S3.H4 & suppls. 1978, 1984, 1989, 1988/2002 - Leigh, Robert. Index to song books: a title index to over 11,000 copies of almost 6,800 songs in 111 song books published between 1933 and 1962.
Ref ML128.S6.L529
- Ferguson, Gary Lynn. Song finder: a title index to 32,000 popular songs in collections, 1854-1992.
- Finding Songs in Collections
Guide created for users of Harvard’s Loeb Music Library.
Finding Lyrics
Song lyrics
From the William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University.
Lists of Hits
- Charts All Over the World
From the Latvian Academic Network. - Mattfeld, Julius. Variety music cavalcade, 1620-1969.
Ref ML128.V7.M435 1971 - Pollock, Bruce. The rock song index: essential information on the 7,500 most important songs of rock and roll.
Ref ML128.R6.P65 1997 - Popular music: an annotated index of American popular songs. Continues: Popular music, 1920-1979.
Ref ML120.U5.S5291 v.9, 1980-present - Whitburn, Joel. Joel Whitburn presents A century of pop music: a year-by-year top 40 rankings of the songs & artists that shaped a century.
Ref ML156.4.P6.W47 1999
Finding Scores
- For scores in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select Scores from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types. Change one of the keyword searches to Subject Words and enter popular music or rock music.
- Public Domain Music Scores
3rd tab of Research Guides: Music
Finding CDs and DVDs
- For CDs and DVDs in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select CDs or DVDs from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types. Change one of the keyword searches to Subject Words and enter popular music, rock music, rap music, hip-hop, etc.
Streaming Audio
- American song
MIT only; allows 3 simultaneous users - Contemporary World Music
MIT only; allows 3 simultaneous users - Internet Archive
A source for free digital recordings.
Selected Internet Resources
- Rock, Pop, Alternative, etc.
From the William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University. - Yahoo! Directory: Music > Genres
- Sibelius Academy: Rock and Pop, etc.
- WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists
From the American Musicological Society - Google Directory: Arts > Music
Subject Specialist
Peter Munstedt
Lewis
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Other Library Services
- Suggest a purchase (MIT only)
- Interlibrary borrowing (MIT only)
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait