MIT Libraries Catalog
To find materials owned by MIT, use Barton:
Jazz
Shortcuts for Researching a Topic: Online and Print Resources
Music Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
See especially Ref ML102.J3 in the Lewis Music Library. Examples:
- The New Grove dictionary of jazz.
Ref ML102.J3.N48 2001 v.1-3; included in Grove Music Online, available as part of Oxford Music Online (MIT only) - Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians. Centennial edition.
Ref ML105.B168 2001 v.1-6 and online (MIT only) - Cook, Richard. Richard Cook's jazz encyclopedia.
Ref ML102.J3.C66 2005 -
Powell, Neil. The language of jazz.
Ref ML102.J3.P68 2000
Dictionary of jazz terminology.
Finding Books and Articles
- Barton (to find materials owned by MIT)
- Main call number sections: ML3506; ML3561.J3
- Biographies of jazz composers: ML410
- Biographies of jazz performers: ML421-ML422
- Main subject headings: Jazz; Jazz musicians; Jazz -- History and criticism.
- Music index.
Ref ML118.M987 and online (MIT only)
An index to music articles published in journals from 1949-1974 (print) and 1974-present (online). - RILM (Répertoire International de la Littérature Musicale) Abstracts of music literature. (MIT only)
Contains abstracts of music research (articles, books, dissertations) from 1967 on. - WorldCat (MIT only)
Contains over one billion library records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including books, scores, CDs, and videos/DVDs. - Doctoral dissertations in musicology online
Free web access from the Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature, Indiana University.
An index of music dissertations-in-progress and a bibliography of completed music dissertations. - Google Scholar.
Includes scholarly literature at MIT and beyond.
To broaden your music search, use Vera Multi-Search
Bibliographies
See especially Ref ML128.J3 in the Lewis Music Library’s reference section. Examples:
- Carner, Gary. Jazz performers: an annotated bibliography of biographical materials.
Ref ML128.B3.C37 1990 - Meadows, Eddie S. Jazz scholarship and pedagogy: a research and information guide. 3rd ed.
Ref ML128.J3.M34 2005
Finding Full-text Journal Articles
Finding Music Scores
- For scores in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select Scores from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types. Change one of the keyword searches to Subject Words and enter jazz.
- For online public domain scores, see Public Domain Music Scores
Finding CDs and DVDs
- For CDs and DVDs in the Lewis Music Library, use Barton Advanced Search and select CDs or DVDs from the pulldown menu under Formats/Types.
- Search for a jazz artist by name or change one of the keyword searches to Subject Words and enter jazz.
- More specific subjects include Guitar music (Jazz); Jazz -- 1931-1940; Latin jazz; Piano music (Jazz); Jazz vocals; Big band music; etc.
Streaming Audio
- Naxos Jazz (MIT only)
MIT only; allows 6 simultaneous users.
- Contemporary World Music
MIT only; allows 3 simultaneous users. -
American Song
MIT only; allows 3 simultaneous users. - Database of Recorded American Music [DRAM]
MIT only; compositions by American composers and artists from New World, CRI, and other important labels. -
Internet Archive (audio)
A source for free digital recordings.
Selected Internet Resources
- All About Jazz
Monthly webzine featuring profiles, interviews, and reviews. - Jazz Corner
A portal for the official web sites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations. - Jazz Times
Web site for the journal Jazz Times. - Worldwide Internet Music Resources: Jazz
Excellent list of links maintained by the William and Gayle Cook Music Library at the Indiana University School of Music. - Jazz: a film by Ken Burns
Online version of Ken Burns' Jazz documentary. - Jazz Research Portal
From the University of North Texas Libraries - America's Jazz Heritage
Online version of the Smithsonian Institution’s America’s Jazz Heritage program.
Subject Specialist
Peter Munstedt
Lewis
Music Librarian
pmunsted@mit.edu
Need Help?
Ask Us! if you have questions
Research Consultations- appointments with subject experts for in-depth help
Tell Us! how we can serve you better. We want to hear from you.
Other Library Services
- Suggest a purchase (MIT only)
- Interlibrary borrowing (MIT only)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait