LibGuides: Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Energy, Environment & Climate

Energy & Environment Data in the MIT Collections

MIT Geodata Repository
MIT GIS Services maintains an international collection of GIS datasets covering energy and environment data. Search for keywords: Energy or Environment for Data on electric, gas, coal, power plants & more for North America & Europe
World Electric Power Plants Database (MIT only)
Location information includes city and state.

Water Data
A comprehensive and intuitive market intelligence platform for the global water sector. Data and analysis of global water market forecasts, includes detailed country and corporate profiles.
GlobalData Power
Data and reports on power/electricity sectors worldwide, including: thermal, wind, solar, hydro, nuclear, smart grid, geothermal, bio, and ocean.
To download data, including latitude and longitude, click on Fundamentals > Power Plants. Use the facets on the side to narrow down the result and click Select. To download, click Advanced Data Export, select a power type, and the fields you want to download (which include lat/long).
*** FOR ACCESS, PLEASE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW THE LOGIN BOX, WHERE IT READS "If you have IP Access Click Here"
SNL Energy
A comprehensive source for data on U.S. and Canadian power plants, energy companies, coal mines, and gas pipelines. Provides detail on financials, filings, supply and demand fundamentals, emissions, hourly market pricing, electricity rates, and more. Includes daily, weekly, and monthly newsletters covering various segments of the energy industry.
Additional license restrictions To use this database, please use Chrome or Internet Explorer as a browser. New users will need to set up an account to access this database. To do so, on the database screen, click on New User Signup and select Market Intelligence New User Signup. Use your MIT email to register and follow the link from email confirmation to set up a password.

Energy & Environment Data on the web

Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC)
Includes tabular data downloads related to fossil fuel emissions, trace gas emissions, atmospheric trace gas & aerosols, oceanic trace gases, carbon cycle, terrestrial carbon management, vegetation response to CO2 & climate, climate, and land-use & ecosystems.
DOE and NREL Energy Datasets
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy and developed by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory in support of the Open Government Initiative to make energy data transparent, participatory, and collaborative.
EnviroMapper
This Web site provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.
Environmental Justice Data Catalog
Organizes and lists datasets that could be used in Environmental Justice research. Datasets are organized based on their environmental justice indicator (such as disasters, urban flooding, extreme heat, and food availability) and the possible use cases for each dataset.
Environmental Protection Agency eGRID
The Emissions & Generation Resource Integrated Database (eGRID) is a comprehensive source of data on the environmental characteristics of almost all electric power generated in the United States. These environmental characteristics include air emissions for nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, carbon dioxide, methane, and nitrous oxide; emissions rates; net generation; resource mix; and many other attributes.
EPA Geospatial Data
To improve public health and the environment, the EPA collects information about facilities or sites subject to environmental regulation. The EPA Geospatial Data Access Project provides a downloadable files of these facilities or sites in the following formats; extensible markup language (XML) file, keyhole markup language (KML) file, ESRI Shapefile and ESRI Feature Class.
Global Change Master Directory
Search for a variety of energy, environment, and climate related data sets.
Global Energy Monitor
Global Energy Monitor develops and analyzes data on energy infrastructure, resources, and uses. It provides open access to databases, reports, and interactive tools that allow users to zoom out for summaries and analysis at the regional or global scale, or zoom in for background and details on any element of the system — coal mine, nuclear power plant, wind farm, oil extraction field, or fossil gas pipeline.
MassGIS Transmission Lines
Pipelines, transmission lines, and other miscellaneous transportation features
NASA's Earth Data Website
land, ocean and atmosphere data
National Air Toxics Assessments
The National-Scale Air Toxics Assessment (NATA) is EPA's ongoing comprehensive evaluation of air toxics in the U.S. EPA developed the NATA as a state-of-the-science screening tool for State/Local/Tribal Agencies to prioritize pollutants, emission sources and locations of interest for further study in order to gain a better understanding of risks. They include Emission density maps, data tables, data summaries, and data sources.
National Coal Resources Data System (NCRDS) Database
The National Coal Resources Data System (NCRDS) began as a cooperative venture between the USGS and State geological agencies in 1975 and focused on the stratigraphy and chemistry of coal.
National Renewable Energy Lab
Technology-specific GIS data for biomass, geothermal, solar, wind, and renewable hydrogen. 10km and 40km solar datasets are available for the United States and some international sites. 50m wind datasets are available for specific states, regions and some international sites. 25km wind datasets are available for the United States. 90m offshore wind datasets are available for the United States offshore areas.
Socio-Environmental Systems Risk Triage (STRESS) Tool
An open-science visualization platform to combine, overlay, and diagnose landscapes of socioeconomic, health, and environmental risk and injustice.
Developed by the MIT Joint Program.
US Department of Energy Data Explorer
Find scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images - generated in the course of DOE-sponsored research in various science disciplines.
US Department of Energy Wind Resource Map
The U.S. Department of Energy provides an 80-meter (m) height, high-resolution wind resource map for the United States with links to state wind maps.
US Energy Information Administration (EIA) - Maps
Exploration, resources, reserves and production
US Fish and Wildlife Service Geospatial Services
Various environmental and conservation datasets are available for the US (hydrology, habitats, ecosystems, etc.)
USGS Energy Data Finder
Download GIS and tabular data, databases, geospatial web services (ArcGIS, WMS, KML)
USGS Protected Areas Database
Comprehensive US Protected Areas Database downloadable in geodatabase format.
World Protected Areas Database
Global dataset of terrestrial and marine protected areas (downloadable in shapefile and KMZ formats).

Weather & Climate

USGS Hazards Data Distribution
Find aerial images from natural hazards, including snowstorms, floods, fires, etc. Choose a disaster from the drop down menu and then enter a date range (optional) and click Search.
National Climatic Data Center
A collection of climatic data that offers public access and consumption via discovery and ordering services. The data available through CDO is available at no charge and can be viewed online or ordered and delivered to your email inbox.
CISL Research Data Archive
The Research Data Archive is managed by the Data Support Section of the Computational and Information Systems Laboratory at the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colorado. NCAR is sponsored by the National Science Foundation.
Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC)
Includes tabular data downloads related to fossil fuel emissions, trace gas emissions, atmospheric trace gas & aerosols, oceanic trace gases, carbon cycle, terrestrial carbon management, vegetation response to CO2 & climate, climate, and land-use & ecosystems.
Climate Trace
Find highly granular global emissions data that were independently collected using satellites, remote sensing, and AI.
Climate Data Online
Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.
National Hurricane Center
Hurricane GIS data for the US, often going back to 2008.
National Weather Service GIS Data
A variety of weather data in shapefile format for the US.
WorldClim
WorldClim is a set of global climate layers (climate grids) with a spatial resolution of about 1 square kilometer.
CRU TS 2.1 Climate Database
The CRU TS 2.1 Global Climate Dataset is comprised of 1224 monthly time-series of climate variables, for the period 1901-2002, covering the global land surface, excluding Antarctica, at 0.5 degrees resolution. The nine climate variables available through this dataset are: daily mean, minimum and maximum temperature, diurnal temperature range, precipitation, wet day frequency, frost day frequency, vapor pressure and cloud cover.

Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Energy, Environment & Climate

Contents

Energy & Environment Data in the MIT Collections

Energy & Environment Data on the web

Weather & Climate