Available data include LiDAR, Digital Elevation Models (DEM), contours and elevation points.
Some data are also available on DVD-ROM in the GIS Lab:
-LiDAR (2002): Rotch Library - GIS Collection | DVDROM G3764.B6A4 2002.B6
-Elevation and Shaded Relief: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | CDROM G3761.C2 2005.M37
-Point Elevation Data: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | CDROM G3761.A25 2001.M46

Type "Aster" in the search box to find the Global Digital Elevation Model.

Download the latest ESRI data & maps layers, which include contours at 600 meter intervals for the entire World and topographic maps at various resolutions for the US.
Older editions are available on CD-ROM here: Rotch Library - GIS Collection |CDROM G70.212.E776 2006

Data are typically available at a resolution of 1 meter to 30 meters depending on the location.
-Launch the data viewer application.
-Zoom to your area and or draw a box around it by selecting Box/Point at the top of the map.
-Check Elevation Products. See the availability of each resolution by clicking "Show Availability".
-Check off the products you want and click "Find Products"
-Add images to your cart to download them. All data are free.

OpenTopography facilitates community access to high-resolution, Earth science-oriented, topography data, and related tools and resources.

Offers free downloads of terrain data, LULC, and DLGs in shapefile and other formats

Type "Aster" in the search box to find the Global Digital Elevation Model.

A suite of gridded products describing surface elevation, ice-thickness and the sea floor and subglacial bed elevation of the Antarctic south of 60◦ S.

Use EarthExplorer to search for and download a variety of imagery datasets managed by USGS.

Download the latest ESRI data & maps layers, which include contours at 600 meter intervals for the entire World and topographic maps at various resolutions for the US.
Older editions are available on CD-ROM here: Rotch Library - GIS Collection |CDROM G70.212.E776 2006

A list and brief description of sources of global elevation data.

Location: Rotch Library - GIS Collection | DVDROM G3200 2004.T63
Global Planner comprises multiple datasets covering the world:
-1:500,000 scale topographic maps of the world from the Russian military (use the index in the GP500_World_ArcView Folder)
-Digital Chart of the World (vector files at 1:1,000,000 scale)
-USGS geologic data

A free global digital elevation model (DEM) with a horizontal grid spacing of 30 arc seconds (approximately 1 kilometer).

OpenTopography facilitates community access to high-resolution, Earth science-oriented, topography data, and related tools and resources.

The Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM) is a joint project between NASA and NGA (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency) to map the world in three dimensions. Flown aboard the NASA Space Shuttle Endeavour February 11-22, 2000, SRTM successfully collected data over 80% of the Earth's land surface, for all area between 60 degrees N and 56 degrees S latitude. Data is available for the USA at a resolution of 1 Arc Seconds (approx. 30 meters) and for the World at 3 Arc Seconds (approx. 90 meters).

Download elevations above and below sea level (use either ETO option), ice, bedrock, or coastal relief models in a variety of formats. 3-second to 1-minute resolution depending on the data set.

The following gridded bathymetry data sets available:

-The GEBCO_08 Grid — a global 30 arc-second grid
largely generated by combining quality-controlled ship depth soundings with interpolation between sounding points guided by satellite-derived gravity data.

- The GEBCO One - a global one arc-minute grid
Released: 2003, updated: 2008 — largely based on the most recent set of bathymetric contours contained within the GEBCO Digital Atlas.

Visitors can search by data types, date, and regions. Includes information on marine, continental and polar environments. Includes a global bathymetry database, which allows users to look at maps and download grids.

A general site for data related to bathymetry & global relief, earth observations from space, geomagnetic data & models, marine geology & geophysics, natural hazards, and space weather & solar events.

NOAA Electronic Navigational Charts (NOAA ENC®) are vector data sets. NOAA ENCs conform with the International Hydrographic Office (IHO) S-57 international exchange format, comply with the IHO ENC Product Specification, and are provided with incremental updates that supply Notice to Mariners corrections and other critical changes. NOAA ENCs and updates are available for free download.

The USGS Woods Hole Science Center`s Information Archives is responsible for maintaining and updating inventories of all pertinent data and other information. Examples of such information include cruise data, map collections, and publications.

The portal provides a service for viewing and downloading a harmonised Digital Terrain Model (DTM) for the European sea regions that is generated by the EMODnet Bathymetry partnership on the basis of the gathered data sources.