Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Can we fix it? We (almost) always can! An introduction to problem-solving queues
Trainer(s): Evgenia Diakonenko, Julia Lanigan, Jake Meaney, Sara Meyers, Sally Richter
Learning outcome: Participants will learn what questions are appropriate to ask Technical Services and Metadata Services staff and how to refer to them.
Date/time: Tuesday, November 12, 2024, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Overview of Course Reserves
Trainer(s): Jake Lewis and Howard Martin
Learning outcome: Participants will gain a high level understanding of course reserves including equitable access to course materials, the Federal Textbook Information Provisioning mandate, collaboration with other library departments, and more!
Date/time: Wednesday, November 13, 2024, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Technology Basics
Trainer(s): Nicholas Albaugh and Phoebe Ayers
Learning outcome: Participants will understand some reasons why e-resources cannot be accessed, how to do basic troubleshooting, and where to refer when basic troubleshooting doesn't work.
Date/time: Wednesday, February 5, 2025, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Overview of DSpace@MIT
Trainer(s): Sadie Roosa
Learning outcome: Participants will learn what content is in DSpace@MIT, how to search it, and how MIT community members can submit content to various collections.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Discovering and Understanding Archival Metadata
Trainer(s): Joe Carrano, Chris Tanguay, Becca Tibbitts, Rachel Van Unen, Thera Webb
Learning outcome: Participants will get an introduction to archival metadata and learn how to find and use the archival metadata at MIT.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Introduction to Digital Library Services
Trainer(s): DLS
Learning outcome: Participants will learn about DLS teams, services they provide, and strategic goals.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Citation Management and Writing Tools: A Deeper Dive
Trainer(s): Amy Nurnberger
Learning outcome: Participants will know how to use citation management and writing tools to help their community members.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Introduction to E-resource Licenses
Trainer(s): Katie Zimmerman
Learning outcome: Recommended for all selectors. Learn what is covered in license contracts for purchased e-resources, how the Libraries negotiates them, and how to get from selection to access more quickly. Licensing can be a source of delay in e-resource purchases, but negotiating license terms is necessary to get what (we think) we're paying for (including accessibility accommodations, patron privacy, lending rights with other institutions, appropriate reuse in research publications). Learn what to look for, what to ask vendor reps, and what to expect out of licensed e-resources.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Advanced Geographic Information Systems
Trainer(s): Nick Albaugh and Paxton LaJoie
Learning outcome: Participants will go through the process of doing a GIS project: Find & download data, add the data to GIS software, and create a map. Participants must register at least one day prior to the session to download materials.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Copyright for Archives
Trainer(s): Katie Zimmerman
Learning outcome: Participants will learn an overview of copyright principles relevant to archives and special collections.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
How to Make Your Presentation Accessible
Trainer(s): Dhruti Bhagat-Conway
Learning outcome: Participants will learn best practices for creating presentations to improve the accessibility of presentations and slides
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Introduction to Distinctive Collections
Trainer(s): Amanda Hawk and Rachel Van Unen
Learning outcome: Participants will learn the services Distinctive Collections provides, and how to refer questions to this group.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Equity in Open Science & Scholarship
Trainer(s): Katharine Dunn
Learning outcome: A broader look at "open" that explores how scholarship and publishing can be more equitable.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Supporting Students in Distress
Trainer(s): CARE Team and Student Support Services
Learning outcome: Participants will learn about the CARE Team, how their services apply to the Libraries, and how we can support students in distress.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Introduction to Open Access
Trainer(s): Katharine Dunn
Learning outcome: Participants will learn policies and basic topics related to OA publishing, and to whom you should refer more advanced questions.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Introduction to Citation Management and Writing Tools Services
Trainer(s): Amy Nurnberger
Learning outcome: Participants will learn which tools the Libraries support and how to refer questions to this group.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Government Documents
Trainer(s): Kim Maxwell
Learning outcome: Participants will learn what government documents are, their locations, how to search for them, and policies for serving users.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Technical Reports
Trainer(s): Barbara Williams
Learning outcome: Participants will learn what technical reports are, how to search databases that index technical reports, and when to refer.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
EDISJ in Virtual Teaching and Service Interactions
Trainer(s): Kai Smith
Learning outcome: Participants will gain an understanding of necessary considerations and best practices for addressing EDISJ in online instruction and service interactions.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Text and Data Mining
Trainer(s): TBA
Learning outcome: Participants will learn terms and vocabulary (software, hardware, tools) to identify TDM, campus resources and disciplines working on TDM, and where to refer TDM questions.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Accessibility in Virtual Teaching and Service Interactions
Trainer(s): TBA
Learning outcome: Participants will gain an understanding of necessary considerations and best practices for addressing accessibility in online instruction and service interactions.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Teaching and Discovery with Distinctive Collections
Trainer(s): Amanda Hawk and Rebecca Bramlett
Learning outcome: Participants will learn about distinct collections and how they are used.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Publishing Topics (different topic each year)
Trainer(s): Katharine Dunn
Learning outcome: TBA
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Conceptualizing and Supporting Digital and Computational Projects for Patrons
Trainer(s): Joe Carrano
Learning outcome: Participants will be made aware of the digital and computational projects that DDC supports, and questions to ask their community members about these projects.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Overview of Referrals
Trainer(s): Tina Chan
Learning outcome: Participants will learn which questions should be referred and where (ex.: Circ RT, Ask Us, JSM)
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Business Resources
Trainer(s): Shikha Sharma
Learning outcome: Participants will learn about business resources available at the Libraries, and how to identify and refer business questions.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Faculty/DLC Donations of Materials
Trainer(s): Mikki Macdonald
Learning outcome: Participants will learn about the materials DDC accepts for donation, questions to ask faculty, and how to refer to DDC.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
Equity in Open Science & Scholarship
Trainer(s): Katharine Dunn
Learning outcome: A broader look at "open" that explores how scholarship and publishing can be more equitable.
Date/time: TBA
Registration: TBA
Anyone interested is welcome.
Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.
