Skip to Main Content
MIT Libraries Staff Web

Information Services Training Program: Music - Elective

Welcome!

This list includes elective sessions that new music staff may take.  Elective sessions are an opportunity to re/learn different skills/topics.

View current sessions in a calendar format or view session recordings.

For non-exempt staff:

  • Introduction to Distinctive Collections is elective

For exempt staff:

  • Overview of Course Reserves is elective
  • Introduction to IDLA is elective

Equity in Open Science & Scholarship

  • Trainer(s): Katharine Dunn
  • Learning outcome: A broader look at "open" that explores how scholarship and publishing can be more equitable.
  • Date/time: Tuesday, March 11, 2025, 10:00am-10:45am
  • Registration: https://libcal.mit.edu/event/13967432
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

How to Make Your Presentation Accessible

  • Trainer(s): Dhruti Bhagat-Conway
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn best practices for creating presentations to improve the accessibility of presentations and slides
  • Date/time: Wednesday, March 19, 2025, 10:00am-11:00am
  • Registration: https://libcal.mit.edu/event/13909642
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Writing for the Web

  • Trainer(s): Dhruti Bhagat-Conway and Stephanie Hartman
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn writing for the web and accessibility best practices to improve webpage and Libguide content for all users.
  • Date/time: Tuesday, April 15, 2025, 10:00am-11:00am
  • Registration: https://libcal.mit.edu/event/13996741
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Advanced E-resource Licenses for Selectors

  • Trainer(s): Katie Zimmerman
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn about the licensing process for specialized products that frequently require special treatment, including text and data mining or bulk computational use, data products, and products designed for industry rather than academia.
  • Date/time: Wednesday, April 23, 2025, 10:00am-11:00am
  • Registration: https://libcal.mit.edu/event/12831748
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Visit the DDC Reading Room (in-person)

  • Trainer(s): Amanda Hawk
  • Learning outcome: Tentative: Participants will learn about reading room policies, and what patrons should know when requesting material.
  • This session is in-person at the Distinctive Collections Reading Room (14N-118).
  • Date/time: Tuesday, April 29, 2025, 9:30am-10:30am
  • Registration: https://libcal.mit.edu/event/13646160
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Discovery of Uncataloged Collections at the Annex (in-person)

  • Trainer(s): Moses Car and Melissa Feiden
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn how to search for uncataloged collections.
  • This session is in-person at the library storage annex (N57-200).
  • Date/time: Thursday, May 8, 2025, 1:00pm-2:00pm
  • Registration: https://libcal.mit.edu/event/13599862
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

MIT Libraries Copyright Services

  • Trainer(s): Katie Zimmerman
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn about the copyright services available to them and to library patrons. Introduction to the Libraries' Copyright Strategy Program, resources for patron questions, resources for staff questions (can I get this book digitized?), and other services available through the Copyright Strategy Program.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Business Research and Resources

  • Trainer(s): Shikha Sharma
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn about business resources available at the Libraries, and how to identify and refer business questions.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Copyright & Open Access Update

  • Trainer(s): Katharine Dunn and Katie Zimmerman
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn about recent important developments in copyright and open access.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

The Fascination with Technical Reports

  • Trainer(s): Barbara Williams
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn what technical reports are, how to search databases that index technical reports, and when to refer.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Can we fix it? We (almost) always can! An introduction to problem-solving queues

  • Trainer(s): Evgenia Diakonenko, Julia Lanigan, Jake Meaney, Sara Meyers, Sally Richter
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn what questions are appropriate to ask Technical Services and Metadata Services staff and how to refer to them.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Searching for Images

  • Trainer(s): Matt Saba and Kai Alexis Smith
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn the image resources the Libraries support, how to search them, and when to refer.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Overview of DSpace@MIT

  • Trainer(s): Sadie Roosa
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn what content is in DSpace@MIT, how to search it, and how MIT community members can submit content to various collections.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Discovering and Understanding Archival Metadata

  • Trainer(s): Joe Carrano, Chris Tanguay, Becca Tibbitts, Rachel Van Unen, Thera Webb
  • Learning outcome: Participants will get an introduction to archival metadata and learn how to find and use the archival metadata at MIT.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Citation Management and Writing Tools: A Deeper Dive

  • Trainer(s): Amy Nurnberger
  • Learning outcome: Participants will know how to use citation management and writing tools to help their community members.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Overview of E-resource Licenses

  • Trainer(s): Katie Zimmerman
  • Learning outcome: Recommended for all selectors. Learn what is covered in license contracts for purchased e-resources, how the Libraries negotiates them, and how to get from selection to access more quickly. Licensing can be a source of delay in e-resource purchases, but negotiating license terms is necessary to get what (we think) we're paying for (including accessibility accommodations, patron privacy, lending rights with other institutions, appropriate reuse in research publications). Learn what to look for, what to ask vendor reps, and what to expect out of licensed e-resources.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Advanced Geographic Information Systems

  • Trainer(s): Nick Albaugh and Paxton LaJoie
  • Learning outcome: Participants will go through the process of doing a GIS project: Find & download data, add the data to GIS software, and create a map. Participants must register at least one day prior to the session to download materials.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Overview of Data Management Services

  • Trainer(s): Amy Nurnberger
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn the services that DMS provides, how to refer questions to DMS.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Overview of Geographic Information Systems

  • Trainer(s): Nick Albaugh and Paxton LaJoie
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn what GIS is, GIS services available at the Libraries, and how to identify & refer GIS questions.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Overview of Copyright and Fair Use

  • Trainer(s): Katie Zimmerman
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn basic copyright and fair use topics, and where to refer for more advanced questions.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Overview of Open Access

  • Trainer(s): Katharine Dunn
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn policies and basic topics related to OA publishing, and to whom you should refer more advanced questions.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Overview of Citation Management and Writing Tools Services

  • Trainer(s): Amy Nurnberger
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn which tools the Libraries support and how to refer questions to this group.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Overview of the Institute Records Management Program

  • Trainer(s): TBA
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn the services provided by the Records Management Program; how it connects to other Library and Institute services; types of records management training and guidance provided; and where to find documentation, policies, and training for users.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Government Documents

  • Trainer(s): Kim Maxwell
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn what government documents are, their locations, how to search for them, and policies for serving users.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Overview of Technical Services

  • Trainer(s): TBA
  • Learning outcome: Participants will ....
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Text and Data Mining

  • Trainer(s): TBA
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn terms and vocabulary (software, hardware, tools) to identify TDM, campus resources and disciplines working on TDM, and where to refer TDM questions.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Teaching and Discovery with Distinctive Collections

  • Trainer(s): Amanda Hawk and Rebecca Bramlett
  • Learning outcome: Participants will learn about distinct collections and how they are used.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Publishing Topics (different topic each year)

  • Trainer(s): Katharine Dunn
  • Learning outcome: TBA
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Conceptualizing and Supporting Digital and Computational Projects for Patrons

  • Trainer(s): Joe Carrano
  • Learning outcome: Participants will be made aware of the digital and computational projects that DDC supports, and questions to ask their community members about these projects.
  • Date/time: TBA
  • Registration: TBA
  • Anyone interested is welcome.
  • Please contact Tina Chan if you have accessibility accommodation needs.

Staff Web | MIT Libraries | MIT

Powered by Springshare. Text licensed under Creative Commons, unless otherwise noted. All other media all rights reserved unless otherwise noted.