LibGuides: Finance: Corp. governance & ownership

Navigate this site

Business resources home

Jump to:

See also:

Business & Management Librarian

Shikha Sharma

Contact: sharmash@mit.edu
Room E53-168K
617.253.5670

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Corporate governance & ownership

BoardEx (via WRDS)
Profiles of corporate executives and board members worldwide including details such as age, gender, education and career history, compensation and stock holdings, as well as insights into the executive's professional network.
Conference Board Database
Reports and data on key issues in areas of corporate leadership, economy and business environment, and human capital including annual surveys on CEO succession practices, director compensation and board practices, US top executive compensation, job satisfaction, and sustainability matters . Economic datasets include historical data for key economic indicators.
Execucomp (via WRDS)
Top executives' salary, bonus, and stock option data since 1992 is available. The database also has company-specific financial statement information to supplement the compensation data.
ISS ESG (formerly RiskMetrics)
Covering S&P 1500 companies, ISS provides data on: Directors: range of variables related to individual board directors (e.g., name, age, tenure, gender, committee memberships, primary employer and title, etc. from 1996+ Governance: information on takeover defense and other corporate governance provisions and Incentive Lab executive compensation data.
MSCI ESG KLD Stats (via WRDS)
Annual data set of positive and negative environmental, social, and governance (ESG) performance indicators applied to a universe of publicly traded companies. Coverage: 1991+
MSCI GMI Ratings (via WRDS)
Annual historical data for each proxy year beginning in 2001. Information includes: corporate board structure and independence , director positions and committee assignments, executive and director compensation, audit fees, corporate ownership, and takeover defenses.
more...less...
Includes over 2,100 U.S. companies and over 38,000 directors. Formerly known as Board Analyst.
Thomson Reuters Ownership Datasets (via WRDS)
Formerly called CDA Spectrum, Thomson Reuters Ownership datasets consists of 3 parts:
more...less...
(1) mutual fund holdings 1980+ for US & Canadian Securities: All registered mutual funds filing with the SEC plus 3,000 global funds. Includes NYSE/AMEX/NASDAQ, Toronto and Montreal common stocks; (2) institutional 13(f) common stock holdings and transactions 1980+; (3) insider filing data 1986+ divided into the following major parts: (a) Table 1 -- transaction and holdings information, (b) Table 2 -- open market derivatives transactions as well as information on the award, exercise, and expiration of stock options (this files starts in 1996), (c) Proposed Sale data derived from Form 144 (this file starts in 1996), (d) Average Returns file contains the information relating to how a stock has historically performed following an insider's transactions. The file includes average 3-month and 6-month buy and sell returns as well as the number of historic buy and sell decisions for each individual insider.