LibGuides: Business & Management Databases A-Z: S

Business Research Guides

Business & Management Librarian

Shikha Sharma

Contact: sharmash@mit.edu
Room E53-168K
617.253.5670

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

S

S&P Credit Ratings (via WRDS)
Historical data for global issuers and structured finance data is available back to 1922; public finance data is available back to 1964 (for securities still active as of January 1, 2007)
S&P Industry Surveys
S&P industry surveys are available through our Capital IQ subscription under Research tab. Now produced by CFRA, these surveys have sections on industry trends, how the industry operates, key industry ratios and statistics, how to analyze a company in that industry, comparative company analysis, and more.
Sage Business Cases
A collection of cases developed in partnership with universities, journals and societies across the globe. Content partners include Yale School of Management, Kellogg School of Management, the Indian Institute of Management, and the University of California at Berkeley. Cases span a wide range of industries and topics including marketing, operations management, international business, small business and entrepreneurship, human resource management and more.
SDC Platinum - Securities Data Company
SDC Platinum as a standalone product has been deprecated. It is now available through LSEG Workspace database. Enter SDC Platinum in the search box to get started.
more...less...
Our subscription includes the following components:
- Private Equity:, covers exits, fundraising, and investments from1970 onward.
- Merger and Acquisitions: data on global M&As, LBOs, spin-offs, privatization, joint ventures and alliances; varied coverage from 1980 onward.
- Global New Issues: data on global stock and debt offerings, including IPOs, private placements, syndicated loans and more.since 1970
- Municipal Bonds: covers US and international municipal new issues
- Infrastructure: data on project finance covering worldwide projects announced and financed on a limited or non-recourse basis since the early 1990s, Belt & Road Initiatives, and MENA projects
SEC Analytics (via WRDS)
Allows developing tailored datasets from all SEC filings, parsing millions of regulatory reports based on one's custom criteria. Parse and extract any entity that reported to the SEC’s EDGAR database since 1994.
SEC Order Execution (via WRDS)
SEC-mandated Disclosure of Order Execution Statistics. 2001-2005
more...less...
On November 15, 2000, the SEC adopted new rules aimed at improving public disclosure of order execution and routing practices. As a result of Rule 11Ac1-5, market centers that trade national market system securities must make monthly, electronic disclosures of basic information concerning their quality of executions on a stock-by-stock basis, including how market orders of various sizes are executed relative to the public quotes and information about effective spreads - the spreads actually paid by investors whose orders are routed to a particular market center. In addition, market centers must disclose the extent to which they provide executions at prices better than the public quotes to investors using limit orders.
SNL Energy
Information on U.S. and Canadian power plants, projects, pipeline contracts, and utility rate cases. Includes financials, filings and data on emissions, generation supply curve and more. Includes daily, weekly, and monthly newsletters covering various segments of the energy industry.
more...less...
Click on New User Signup and select S&P Capital IQ Pro New User Signup to register for an account using your MIT email. Follow the instructions sent to your email to complete registration.
SNL FIG
SNL FIG provides financial data for the banking and insurance sector. Get details on assets, deposits, loans, regulatory capital and performance for thousands of banking institutions worldwide. Includes detailed statutory financial data from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners for U.S. public and private insurance companies of various types including property & casualty; life, accident & health; life separate account statements and health companies.
more...less...
Use Chrome or Microsoft Edge as a browser. New users must register. To register, click New User Signup, select S&P Capital IQ Pro New User Signup, enter your MIT email, and follow the link in the confirmation email to set a password.
SNL Metals & Mining
Company and property-level data, analysis and news for the global metals and mining industry. Detailed operational and financial data on all aspects ranging from exploration, development and production to capital markets, and industry trend analysis.
more...less...
Click on New User Signup and select S&P Capital IQ Pro New User Signup to register for an account using your MIT email. Follow the instructions sent to your email to complete registration.
SNL Real Estate
Tracks thousands of real estate properties around the world. The Properties section within a company’s briefing book gives you detailed information on a company’s property portfolio, including property transactions, properties in its development pipeline, top tenants and top markets. Data is sourced from company press releases, web sites, annual reports and government filings.Note: An account with SNL is required to access this database.
more...less...
To create an account, on the database screen, click on New User Signup and select Market Intelligence New User Signup. Use your MIT email to register and follow the link from email confirmation to set up a password.
Social Explorer
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present. Social Explorer makes it easy to create interactive thematic maps using Census data on subjects including educational attainment, employment, farm output, housing, occupation, pace of birth for foreign born, race, and sex.
Social Science Research Network
Working papers (fulltext or abstracts) for research in economics, management, and other social sciences. 1993 - present.
States of India
Economic and social data at the state level for India, including state domestic product, inflation, banking, public finance, agriculture, energy, infrastructure, industry, investments, households, population and demographics, employment, education, crime, and election results.
more...less...
To gain access, first register for an account using your MIT email.
Statista
Find statistics, reports, studies, and charts on a wide range of topics such as media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Statistics are presented by industry for the U.S. as a whole. Earlier editions going back to 1879 are also available on the Census Bureau web site.
Stat Plus
News and analysis on healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and biotech industries. Includes policy and science developments. Content also includes cheat sheets, that provide an overview of different technologies. New users must register for an account with their MIT email address.
more...less...
Once you have an account, click on the Log In tab to proceed. Please note: all subsequent use of the account requires that you use the library link to log in.