Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business & Management Librarian
More ways to get help
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.
Wall Street Journal Historical
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. 1889-1991
Provides in-depth automotive industry data for US and many other countries across the globe. Types of data covered include automobile production, inventory, sales, equipment installation rates, vehicle specifications and engine installation volumes among others. Available data can be downloaded into Excel.
Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)
WRDS offers deep archives of historical financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing data through a single web-based interface. It supports a variety of output file formats including fixed-format, tab-delimited, comma-separated-values (csv), SAS, and HTML tables. MIT researchers only have access to those databases licensed explicitly by the Sloan School of Management. These do not include all WRDS databases. To access the datasets available via WRDS, MIT faculty and graduate students should register for an account. Get more help here.
Woods & Poole Complete US Dataset
Provides annual historical data from 1970 (some variables begin in 1990) and annual projections to 2050 of population by race, sex, and age, employment by industry, earnings of employees by industry, personal income by source, households by income bracket and retail sales by kind of business. Covers the U.S. total, and all regions, states, counties, and CBSAs. (2018)
World Development Indicators
WDI provides social, economic, environmental, financial, and health data for over 200 countries and eighteen country groups. Data can be scaled, charted, and exported as an Excel or ASCII file. 1960 to present.
Presents fundamental data for major international companies. Searchable by company name, country, exchange, or fundamental items. 1980+. Accessible through Datastream in the Dewey Library Workstation #14
Worldscope (via WRDS)
Provides fundamental data for major international companies. 1980+.
WRDS SEC Analytics Suite
Allows parsing for millions of SEC filings based on custom criteria. Contains text and html files for all 10-K, 10-Q, 8-K, Proxy filings, 13D/G, 13F UPLOAD and CORRESP and CT ORDER in SEC EDGAR.
Covers 1994-present. Includes CIK-CUSIP and CIK-GVKEY linking files.
Create a personal account using your MIT email to access the Wall Street Journal.