Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

Contact us: Distinctive Collections

MIT Libraries staff list

About Distinctive Collections

MIT Libraries' Distinctive Collections comprises the Aga Khan Documentation Center, the MIT Institute Archives, Manuscripts, Rare Books, Visual Collections, the Wunsch Conservation Lab, and Metadata & Digital Collections Services.

Distinctive Collections collects, preserves, and fosters the use of unique and rare materials such as tangible and digital archives, manuscripts, ephemera, artists’ books, and more. With these collections the Libraries seeks to cultivate the interest in past, present, and future; the humanistic and the scientific; and the physical and the digital in order to inspire and enable research, learning, experimentation, and play for a diverse community of users.

The Distinctive Collections Reading Room is open to all, regardless of institutional affiliation, for use of our collections.

For all reference requests, please contact us using our form: Ask Distinctive Collections 

Location:
Building 14N-118
In the Hayden Library, 160 Memorial Drive

Mailing address:
Building 14N-118
77 Massachusetts Ave 
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307 USA

E-mail: distinctive-collections@mit.edu
Telephone: 617.253.5136

Joe Carrano

Joe Carrano

Joe Carrano

Digital Archivist
Distinctive Collections
carrano@mit.edu | 14N-118  | 617-715-4468

Mattie Clear

Headshot of Mattie Clear

Mattie Clear

Reference Associate
Distinctive Collections
mclear@mit.edu | 14N-118 | 617.452.5137
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Jana Dambrogio

Jana Dambrogio

Jana Dambrogio

Thomas F. Peterson (1957) Conservator
Distinctive Collections
jld@mit.edu | 14-0513 | 617.452.4064
Pronouns: she/her

Mikki Simon Macdonald

Mikki Simon Macdonald

Mikki Simon Macdonald

Collections Strategist
Distinctive Collections
mssimon@mit.edu | NE36-6101 | 617.253.7146

Alexandra McGee

Alex McGee

Alex McGee

Interim Head of Public Services
Distinctive Collections
acmcgee@mit.edu | 14N-118 | 617.253.5705

Jess Myers

Jess Myers

Thesis Project Associate
Distinctive Collections
myersjm@mit.edu | 14-0551
Pronouns: they/them/theirs

Matthew Saba

Matthew Saba

Matthew Saba

Visual Resources Librarian 
Aga Khan Documentation Center
mdsaba@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617.253.6129

Kari Smith

Kari Smith

Kari Smith

Institute Archivist
Distinctive Collections
smithkr@mit.edu | 14N-118 | 617.258.5568

Nur Sobers-Khan

Nur Sobers-Khan

Program Head, AKDC
Aga Khan Documentation Center
soberskh@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617.324.5022
Pronouns: she/they

Greta Suiter

Greta Suiter

Greta Suiter

Processing Archivist
Distinctive Collections
gsuiter@mit.edu | 14N-118 | 617.258.5533
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Chris Tanguay

Christina Tanguay

Chris Tanguay

Processing Associate
Distinctive Collections
ctanguay@mit.edu | 14N-118 | 617.715.4466
Pronouns: she/they

Michael Toler

Michel Toler

Michael Toler

Archnet Content Manager
Aga Khan Documentation Center
mtoler@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617.253.2955

Rachel Van Unen

Rachel Van Unen

Rachel Van Unen

Archival Processing Manager
Distinctive Collections
rvanunen@mit.edu | 14N-118 | 617.253.4323

Ask us

Email and chat (via Ask Usare often the most effective ways to get help and contact staff.