Skip to main content

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Search Account

Contact us: Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy

MIT Libraries staff list

About Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy

The Scholarly Communications and Collections Strategy department (SCCS) unites the aims of transforming scholarly communications for the digital age with innovative and sustainable stewardship of the MIT Libraries' collections budget.

SCCS makes collections decisions informed by strategy and values that explicitly incorporate transforming the processes of creating, disseminating, collecting, storing, managing, and preserving research inputs and outputs -- often referred to with the shorthand "scholarly communications" -- toward openness and increased access. The group takes the values of open access, diversity, and social justice as a lens for framing collections decisions, and as important guideposts for navigating and favorably shaping the scholarly communications landscape.

Headshot of Laura Hanscom Laura Hanscom, Interim Head

Courtney Crummett

Courtney Crummett

Courtney Crummett

Collection Strategist; HST & IMES Librarian
Scholarly Communications & Collection Strategy and
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
crummett@mit.edu | 10-500 | 617.324.8290

Katharine Dunn

Katharine Dunn

Katharine Dunn

Scholarly Communications Librarian
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
khdunn@mit.edu | NE36-7303 | 617.253.9879

Debra Fazio

Debra Fazio

Debra Fazio

Scholarly Communications Associate
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
dfazio@mit.edu | NE36-7306 | 617.253.3030

Laura Hanscom

Headshot of Laura Hanscom

Laura Hanscom

Interim Head, Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
lhanscom@mit.edu | NE36-7304 | 617.258.5589

Deborah Lenares

Deborah Lenares

Deborah Lenares

Collections Analyst and Strategist
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
dlenares@mit.edu | NE36-7307 | 617.253.0863

Mikki Simon Macdonald

Mikki Simon Macdonald

Mikki Simon Macdonald

Collections Strategist for Institute Publications
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
mssimon@mit.edu | NE36-6101 | 617.253.7146

Nancy McGovern

Nancy McGovern

Nancy McGovern

Director, Digital Preservation
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
nancymcg@mit.edu | NE36-6101 | 617.253.5664

Sadie Roosa

Sadie Roosa

Repository Services Strategist
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
sroosa@mit.edu | NE36-6101 | 617.715.5897

Katie Zimmerman

Katie Zimmerman

Katie Zimmerman

Director of Copyright Strategy
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
kbzimmer@mit.edu | NE36-6101 | 617.324.4871