Skip to main content

Administrative Services: COVID Collections Team

Administrative Services supports the MIT Libraries' mission and goals in the areas of Budget & Financial, Facilities & Operations, Personnel and Staff Services.

COVID Collections Team

This team was officially retired on August 31, 2020, and work in this area was transferred to the Service Restart Project Team.

The COVID Collections Team was pulled together to identify collections that could be highlighted for use during the libraries' closure, and to work through a series of issues to make as much electronically available as possible.

The COVID Collections Team reported to the Collection Management Synthesis Team. Its work as a team was done primarily in March and April 2020, and it was officially retired on August 31, 2020.

Members

  • Deborah Lenares (point person)
  • Martina Anderson
  • Phoebe Ayers
  • Eugenia Beh
  • Courtney Crummett
  • Emilie Hardman
  • Nina Davis Millis
  • Monica Ruiz
  • Ece Turnator
  • Shikha Sharma
  • Katie Zimmerman

Team Activities

The team worked through March and April to provide needed access to electronic content. During that time, they

  • provided online access to approximately half the titles on reserve,

  • expanded access to e-books temporarily through arrangements with 10 platforms,

  • implemented arrangements with 16 platforms for temporary access to article content, films, instructional videos, standards, scores, music, and images

  • expedited the purchase of ebooks through the suggested purchase process,

  • created a public-facing libguide listing the platforms providing temporary, expanded access to collections

By the end of April, much of the work of the COVID Collections Response Team wrapped up. The team is now in a second phase of supporting remote research and learning on a more long term basis. The second phase includes

  • prioritizing the acquisition of econtent that is needed for remote research and learning,

  • greater coordination between collection strategy and reserves, and

  • planning for changes to collections to meet new budget limitations.

This work has been normalized into the functional structures of the organization (collection strategy, acquisitions, metadata services, subject liaisons/selectors, reserves, etc.).