Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIT Libraries logo MIT Libraries

Massaschusetts Institute of Technology logo Search Account

Contact us: Liaison, Instruction & Reference Services

MIT Libraries staff list

About Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services

The liaison librarians, subject experts, and learning specialists of Liaison, Instruction and Reference Services (LIRS) support MIT Departments, Labs, and Centers to ensure they get the most out of information resources and services for their learning and research. Our staff develop and lead library instruction activities, reference services and self-help tools.

Head: Karrie Peterson

Program Head: Lisa Horowitz

Social Sciences &
Management:

Nicholas Albaugh
Jen Greenleaf
Deborah Lenares
Jennie Murack
Shikha Sharma

 

 

Arts & Humanities:

Avery Boddie
Tina Chan
Caleb Hall
Lisa Horowitz
Kai Alexis Smith
Mark Szarko
Ece Turnator

Science & Engineering:

Phoebe Ayers
Ye Li
Alejandro Paz
Howard Silver
Barbara Williams

Librarians by subject: see Expert librarians

Nicholas Albaugh

Nicholas Albaugh

Nicholas Albaugh

Management and Social Sciences Librarian
for Innovation & Entrepreneurship; Economics Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
nalbaugh@mit.edu | E53-168B | 617.252.1510

Phoebe Ayers

Phoebe Ayers

Phoebe Ayers

Librarian for Electrical Engineering & Computer Science,
IDSS, and Mathematics
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
Data and Specialized Services
psayers@mit.edu | 10-500 | 617.253.4442

Avery Boddie

Avery Boddie

Lewis Music Library Department Head
Lewis Music Library
averyb@mit.edu | 14E-109 | 617.253.5636

Robert Caplin

Robert Caplin

Robert Caplin

Administrative Assistant
Administrative Services; Research and Learning
rcaplin@mit.edu | 14S-210 | 617.253.0874

Tina Chan

Tina Chan

Tina Chan

Reference Services Program Manager and Humanities Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
tinachan@mit.edu | E53-168d | 617.715.5160

Nina Davis-Millis

Nina Davis-Millis

Nina Davis-Millis

Director of Community Building and Engagement Program
Research and Learning 
ninadm@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617.324.4453
Pronouns: she/her

Jennifer Greenleaf

Jennifer Greenleaf

Jen Greenleaf

Social Science and Management Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
jgleaf@mit.edu | E53-168F | 617.253.1689

Caleb Hall

Caleb Hall

Music Technology and Digital Media Librarian
Lewis Music Library
hallc@mit.edu | 14-104M | 617.253.0982

Lisa Horowitz

Lisa R. Horowitz

Lisa R. Horowitz

Program Head for Liaison and Information Services
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
lisah@mit.edu | 14S-210 | 617.253.9353
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Deborah Lenares

Deborah Lenares

Deborah Lenares

Collections Analyst and Strategist
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
dlenares@mit.edu | 14S-210 | 617.253.0863
Pronouns: she/her

Ye Li

Headshot of Ye Li

Ye Li

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering,
Materials Science and Engineering Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
yel@mit.edu | 14S-210 | 617.253-9795
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Jennie Murack

Jennie Murack

Jennie Murack

Geospatial Data Librarian & Statistics Specialist
Data and Specialized Services
murack@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617.258.6680

Alejandro Paz

Alejandro Paz

Alejandro Paz

Librarian for Energy and Environment
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
apaz@mit.edu | 14S-203

Karrie Peterson

Karrie Peterson

Karrie Peterson

Head
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
karrie@mit.edu | 14S-210 | 617.253.9367
Pronouns: she/they

Shikha Sharma

Shikha Sharma

Shikha Sharma

Business and Management Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
sharmash@mit.edu | E53-168k | 617.253.5670

Howard Silver

Kai Alexis Smith

Kai Alexis Smith

Kai Alexis Smith

Architecture and Planning Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
kaias@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617.258.5593
Pronouns: she/her

Mark Szarko

Mark Szarko

Mark Szarko

Comparative Media Studies, Literature, Philosophy,
and Theater Arts Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
szarko@mit.edu | 14S-210 | 617.258.8022
Pronouns: he/him/his

Michael Toler

Michel Toler

Michael Toler

Archnet Content Manager
Aga Khan Documentation Center
mtoler@mit.edu | 7-238 | 617.253.2955

Ece Turnator

Ece Turnatorr

Ece Turnator

Humanities and Digital Scholarship Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
turnator@mit.edu | 14S-210 | 617.253.4979

Barbara Williams

Barbara Williams

Barbara Williams

AeroAstro and Physics Librarian
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
barbaraw@mit.edu | 10-500 | 617.253.5666
Pronouns: she/her

Ask us

Email and chat (via Ask Usare often the most effective ways to get help and contact staff.