Skip to main content

MIT Libraries

Search Account

Contact us: Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy

MIT Libraries staff list

About Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy

The Scholarly Communications and Collections Strategy department (SCCS) unites the aims of transforming scholarly communications for the digital age with innovative and sustainable stewardship of the MIT Libraries' collections budget.

SCCS makes collections decisions informed by strategy and values that explicitly incorporate transforming the processes of creating, disseminating, collecting, storing, managing, and preserving research inputs and outputs -- often referred to with the shorthand "scholarly communications" -- toward openness and increased access. The group takes the values of open access, diversity, and social justice as a lens for framing collections decisions, and as important guideposts for navigating and favorably shaping the scholarly communications landscape.

Ellen FinnieEllen Finnie, Head

Michelle Baildon

Michelle  Baildon

Michelle Baildon

Collections Strategist for Arts & Humanities
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
Liaison to the Science, Technology, & Society Program
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services
baildon@mit.edu | baildon.rm (Yahoo IM) | 14S-230 | 617.253.9352

Katharine Dunn

Katharine Dunn

Katharine Dunn

Scholarly Communications Librarian
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
khdunn@mit.edu | 14E-210 | 617.253.9879

Debra Fazio

Debra Fazio

Debra Fazio

Scholarly Communications Associate
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
dfazio@mit.edu | 14E-210 | 617.253.3030

Ellen Finnie

Ellen Finnie

Ellen Finnie

Head, Scholarly Communications &
Collections Strategy
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
efinnie@mit.edu | 14S-226 | 617.253.8483

Laura Hanscom

Laura Hanscom
 

Laura Hanscom

Scholarly Communications & Licensing Librarian
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
lhanscom@mit.edu | 14E-210 | 617.258.5589

Erja Kajosalo

Erja Kajosalo

Erja Kajosalo

Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Librarian; Collections Specialist
Liaison, Instruction, and Reference Services &
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
kajosalo@mit.edu | 14S-134 | 617.253-9795

Julia Lanigan

Julia Lanigan

Collections and Administrative Assistant
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
jlanigan@mit.edu | 14S-226 | 617.253.9318

Deborah Lenares

Deborah Lenares

Deborah Lenares

Collections Analyst and Strategist
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
dlenares@mit.edu | 14S-224 | 617.253.0863

Mikki Simon Macdonald

Mikki Simon Macdonald

Mikki Simon Macdonald

Collections Strategist for Institute Publications
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
mssimon@mit.edu | 14E-210 | 617.253.7146

Michael Noga

Michael Noga

Michael Noga

Collections Strategist; Earth & Planetary Sciences and
Mathematics Librarian
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy and
Liaison, Instruction, & Reference Services
mnoga@mit.edu | 14S-222 | 617.253.1290

Katie Zimmerman

Katie Zimmerman

Katie Zimmerman

Scholarly Communications & Licensing Librarian
Scholarly Communications & Collections Strategy
kbzimmer@mit.edu | 14E-210 | 617.324.4871

Ask us